Some people say that the main aim of advertising is to improve sales of products that people do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertise plays a vital role in making a product viral, famous and trending in the market. And it is obvious that advertising is an important phase in the product lifecycle. Few argue that this stage's only objective is to increase sales while others have a different opinion. I strongly believe, the promotion's main aim is to improve sales. Firstly, some of the household products like brooms, wiping sticks, candles, pooja items, and washroom items are advertised by famous figures like sportsmen, actors, and models. These items are among the essentials which are required in household activities. Regardless, of any brand its sole purpose is simple and it is achieved. But sellers want their own brand to be sold at high volume by attracting customers using offers like buy 1 get 1 free, discounts, and even sometimes using trending actors for the product. Secondly, investing enormous amounts in cosmetic promotions to increase revenue even though people are least interested in them initially but, eventually end up purchasing them due to the fact of using some fair, good-looking actresses, actors and models to create an illusion of obesity or unattractive mindset in people’s thoughts. Dwelling them into a mindset of using them will result in glorifying skin, fair skin colour, and good looks. This is a classic example of social psychology. In contrast, we hardly see any huge investments in marketing medical products like tablets or syrups. In my opinion, any good and useful product finds its way to the consumers or with little investment in the marketing to bring awareness about the product availability is only required. For instance, women in rural or regional areas need to be aware of those products which help their living like sanitary pads. To conclude, the majority of the sellers in the market invest huge amount and their main objective from the promotions is to see high revenue. Regardless of the product's importance for the people.