Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

It is thought by some that the government should not spend money on the arts, which is a waste of money, because there are many other areas needing money to improve the quality of life, which are more important than the arts. However, I don’t agree with this idea. In my view, the arts are indispensable part of life. It is necessary for the government to invest money in the area of the arts. First of all, although it is easy for people to forget the existence of the arts, the fact is that the arts are always as important as other aspects of people’s lives, such as science, sport or history. Humans can often get inspirations or new ideas from the arts, which form the foundation of their beliefs. Furthermore, it is exactly these beliefs advancing the development of individuals and society. Secondly, there is no doubt that it is because of the arts that our lives are interesting and meaningful. Today modern cities are filled with beautiful, inspiring buildings; loads of art activities help citizens kill some time or develop their hobby; spectacular sculptures become the highlight of tourist attractions. If there is no aesthetics, music, painting, statue, etc., then the question is, how can human beings survive in this boring and dark world? In conclusion, while some always forget the fact that the arts are essential part of humans’lives humans lives, it is absolutely wrong to underestimate the importance of the arts. People need governments to invest in the arts to make life colorful and vibrant.