Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract local people? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, the main visitors to museums and historical places are usually tourists rather than local individuals. This essay will first explore the reasons for this issue and then present some solutions to attract more local visitors to those places. Firstly, museums and historical places offer no profound attraction for local residents. Being born and brought up in a place makes people familiar with the culture, traditions and architectural style in the city, making going to such places pointless. Secondly, attending unfamiliar places is more interesting to humans than familiar ones. For example, I have not gone to the museum in my hometown; however, when I travelled to Turkey for the first time in 2018, the first places I visited were historical places such as Hagia Sophia and Blue mosque, highlighting the correlation between novel things and their attraction. Finally, this reluctance to visit local historical places might fade the national cultural heritage importance among local residents in the long term. Nonetheless, museums and historical places could be made attractive for the locals by converting them into multi-functional places. Dedicating a part of those places for playing mind games inspired by the architecture of a historical building or the image of the existing antiques in the museum could change the boring atmosphere into an exciting one, stimulating particularly, younger generations to have a visit. For instance, offering a monetary prize for the solver of a puzzle, designed from the facade of the Takht-e Jamshid monument in Shiraz, Iran, could with no doubt cause the influx of local people to this place, conveying the importance of historical places in an interesting way. This adaption to human needs, therefore, ensures such places are sustainable attractions for locals. In conclusion, although those places are unattractive for local individuals, they could be converted into a hobby by equipping them with gripping facilities. Consequently, if governments aim to address this issue, adapting these places to society’s interests is advisable.