Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Some kids spend their time on their cell phones daily. This habit comes from their curiosity which they want to explore new topics. I think the disadvantages are more than the advantages. To begin with, in recent centuries, many children can access data more easily rather than the kids in the past. There are many resources available for them such as websites, smartphones, TVs, and other media. These days many children are using cell phones at early ages. It is hard for parents to monitor them constantly because the internet provides great facilities for people to explore everywhere through browsers. For example, at present, many online games provide a situation for children to play with friends and chat with them at the same time. Meanwhile, each game has advertisements to support the games but some advertisements are offensive and they are not appropriate for them. Thus, at least parents should accompany them and make a good connection with their children. Besides, they should set parental control on their smartphones to observe them more. Regarding the negative points, by using smartphones too much, children become more isolated in the long term and they do not tend to participate in their friends’ groups. Moreover, they will be lazy and cannot focus on their lesson their behaviour will change and they separated from physical activities. Nevertheless, there are some benefits for them like engaging with educational apps and sharing their assignments with their tutors, but the drawbacks are more and their parents should have a plan to manage this issue. To sum up, some kids spend hours on their mobile phones every day. This causes harmful effects for them and parents should be aware to monitor them and try to encourage them to do physical activities and make relationships with their friends.