Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

In modern era, there are many obstacles in the path of developing world, low literacy rate is one of them. It has been a pressing issue from many years. This essay shall delve with a few reasons and its effects on the society. To begin with, first and foremost, cause is lack of awareness of benefits of being educated. In fact, in many under-developed nations people consider education wastage of time because they are unaware of the fact that reading can change their lives and uplift their living standards. Secondly, absence of infrastructure in many countries is an another reason of widespread of illiteracy. To illustrate, according to WHO in Africa many countries like Zambia, Angola etc. either does not have the school building or there are no tutors to teach. Hence, major part of the population is such nations are illiterate. Furthermore, global economic inflation is also a major factor. It is a matter of fact, that quality education is has gone beyond the reach of common people because cost involved in looking after a family has increased many-folds in past few decades. This problem has many unfavourable outcomes, firstly, uneducated people put extra financial burden on governments, as many illiterate people are unable to earn their living because most of them does not have any professional skills due to lack of education. Therefore, the rulers are taking care of needs of such people in matters of food and health. Secondly, increase in crime rate is the another outcome of the absence of learning. For example, according to National Crime Register in India, a number of culprits involved in criminal cases are uneducated and they were involved in such activities, in order to, earn some money for their families. To sum up, the lack of education is the outcome of lack of awareness and absence of basic infrastructure. In return, it is disrupting the social harmony and burdening the rulers to fulfil basic needs of the illiterate people by giving them food, medicines etc.