Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as awhole

Nowadays, people seem to begin staying away from reading newspapers or books. That issue makes many nations worry about continuous of literacy. From my point of view, it is caused because of too many distractions. The result of this pattern is lowering creative thinking of a person therefore making people less in detail. The development of sophisticated technology in the modern era brings more distractions than it was. People tend to search what they want to know rather than reading numerous pages to find an information. For example, many students nowadays choose to open their Google application to get an information regarding with their tasks in school. It is less time consuming compared with walking to library and read one by one book to get knowledge. This is caused fewer people read and understand the meaning behind books. In addition, the products from developing technology such smartphone also discourage people to rise their literacy skills. They spend much time to play phone and forget to open a inspirative reading media like newspaper or book. When developing literacy skills like reading skill, a person will try to imagine what really happened on the book they have read, this condition is a first step to rise the creative thinking. Thus, if a person begins to stay away from reading, it means she or he will lose creative thinking. For instance, reading and understanding fiction books will rise the imagination of the readers, they start to think and understand the story of that book. Besides that, people who less do reading will be more likely loss their skill to be a detail person. Because they use to read quickly and only skim the information, so they loss the detail information. In conclusion, minimum literacy of people in all over the world might be caused by sophisticated technology and the result of this condition is lowering the skills of person expecially regarding with critical thinking and detail of searching an information