In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It si therefore necessary for the government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the present climate, the consumption of fast food has gained popularity. Many are struggling with the side effects of overconsumption of this poor dietary pattern. Although some claim that it is for governments to impose a higher tax on fast food, I disapprove of this mindset strongly as it can act in reverse. One explanation why this approach should be disapproved of is due to the fact that imposing surcharges will affect those with less income. To illustrate, owing to the fact that instant foods are cheaper and accessible poor residents and some with special situations such as international students, who do not have a well-paid job, will face profound influence conducive to exacerbating health conditions. Another justification can be for governments to implement a substitute approach. For instance, instead of imposing the tax, they can legislate some restrictive regulations aimed at forcing restaurant owners to use healthier ingredients otherwise they would be imposed penalties. For instance, Business owner replace unhealthy oils with healthy ones and they need financial support, nevertheless. Take MacDonald chain restaurants as an example, they would make a profit by implementing these laws because of the huge expenditure that they may face, unless they receive financial support from authorities. On the other hand, some argue that inserting a tax on fast food can generate money for the government which can be used to ameliorate the raw materials' quality. For instance, this money can be dedicated to producers to promote the quality of the product. Moreover, this money can be used for educational purposes to raise the knowledge of community members regarding healthy diets. However, I refute this mindset as these privileges are not comparable with the downside of the tax approach. In conclusion, considering surcharges on fast food is highly likely to deteriorate the condition, at the same time it can have some practicality, as well.