Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Due to the development of genetic science, researchers think that the genes we are born with are much more influential on our personality and development than any experiences we would encouter later in life. However, I hold the ferent belief that genes are not the main influential factor in our personality and development. According to modern psychology, despite the fact that genes place a huge influence on our physical appearance and figure, the environmental factors also have a great influence on our personality and physical development. For example, studies done by scholars have shown that when you raised a twin in two different countries, they would be exposed to very different cultures and thus, they would develop very different personalities and body figures. The one growing up in an Asian country tended to like spicy food while the other one growing up in a western country appeared to favor sweetness more. Besides environmental factors, parenting also have a huge influence on one's personality as it affects the mindset of a human being deep inside the subconscious mind. As shown in multiple studies, one growing up in a single parented family was likely to have less sense of security and trust while someone growing up in a completed family tended to experience more sense of security and had a more pleasant personality later in life especially when they faced relationship problems. Moreover, education is also a key factor affecting the personality development of one person, research has shown that people who received higher education level were more likely to be reasonable and had better problem solving skills in general. On the other hand, people who received less education were more prone to use violence when they were met with troubles. A common example is that ancient people tended to solve conflicts by wars while modern people tended to solve it with laws. To summerize, it is interesting to note that although genes have huge influence in the color of our skin and other physical appearance, modern psychologists have found that there are many significant factors such as environment, education and parenting which would affect our personality and development in the later stage of life. Therefore, we must not overlook the other factors when we draw a conclusion on the developmental area.