Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the advantages and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Preferences of people continuously change and evolve very quickly. There is one quite popular trend nowadays when travellers are keen to visit hard-to-reach points on the Earth with brutal environments. I will discuss both the merits and demerits of this phenomenon. Visiting places with harsh climates and surroundings and overcoming all difficulties through the route can be the crucial changing point of character and personality for some people. The exhibition of Mount Everest can be a good example. The backpackers who have a passion for adventures and successfully reach the highest point admit that afterwards, they become mentally strong. They easily accept private hardships and solve them without crises and stagnation. Some of them changed their career paths and became mountaineering and climbing instructors and motivated others. Therefore it can be admitted that visiting places with rugged environments has a positive impact on some persons. On the other hand, these areas are dangerous and visiting them is extremely expensive. Anyone who desires to visit uninspected wild locations without preparation can easily face life-threatening situations. Jungles and desserts are not only interesting landmarks with captivating views. There are lot of wild animals, poisonous plants and a harsh surfaces of soil or weather conditions can be unpleasant surprises for unprepared ones. Additionally, explorers should buy special costly equipment, to get into top shape and be fit, go through medical preparations like vaccinations or check-ups and hire professional guides to complete the route. As a result, it can be seen that this kind of travel demand a lot of effort for successful results. In conclusion, though visiting extreme places on our Planet might sound like a threatening idea, the changes which these areas give to personality are priceless.