The restoration of old buildings in major cities in the world costs numerous governments expenditure. This money should be used in new housing and road development. Do you agree or disagree?

Many old buildings are being restored in major cities which costs numerous government expenditures. People argue that this money should be used to build new housing and road development. I am neutral towards this topic I believe that old buildings should be restored so that people can learn more about the history of architecture. Furthermore, major cities already have well-built roads and housing, hence, the restoration of old buildings should be prioritized. Moreover, old buildings that don't have a support structure need to be restored as a weak foundation of a building could harm other people. From my experience, I have seen many buildings that caused problems for those who lived near them. I think the government should prioritize restoring monuments, as they preserve our culture and history. I believe our future generations will take inspiration from the design and history of old buildings. On the other hand, I do not think that every major city is alike in terms of architecture, like Jaipur has old buildings that are well built and do not need restoration and hence, new housing and roads would be the right decision as it gives people shelter and helps increase trades in that city. To conclude, I think that the restoration of old buildings in a major city depends on the particular city and its needs.