You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people suggest that the solution to this problem is to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree? You should write at least 250 words.

Talking about health issues, one cannot avoid thoroughly looking at an alarming increase in obesity cases around the world. In fact, there is a general claim that to lower this number, the government should apply laws and restrictions on unhealthy foods such as snacks and soft drinks. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this statement. Analyzing the profit of the fast food industry and the awareness of people at this time will prove this point. First and foremost, there is no denying that the fast food industry is one of the fastest-growing businesses in these busy days of life. For instance, companies like Coca-Cola or Pesico always report a positive margin number in their yearly finance report, and this is a result of cheap and easily accessible ingredients while sale numbers are always in high demand. Moreover, products like snacks and soft drinks can be found anywhere from urban to rural areas, in big supermarkets or in street vendor machines, and the most important point is that they are being sold at a very cheap price so that anyone is accessible to these products. As a result, while healthy food is encouraged by many health organizations, buyers nowadays are lost in the jungle of junk foods and sweet beverages, but organic and healthy foods are far exceeding people's living standards. Secondly, taking a look at people's schedules these days, it is understandable why fast foods are so much in favour of replacing those traditional meals in the past. For example, one of the most common habits of young people is skipping breakfast due to their busy time in the morning getting to workplaces or schools. As a result, fast foods are served to these people as a quick and convenient meal that combines breakfast and lunch, to keep their belly full and provide enough energy for the whole day. Furthermore, family meals are being ignored by many modern families since they do not have time to cook a proper meal for their children while a pizza can be served by a phone call within 15 minutes. An increase in these foods's price tag will make them think twice before making any purchase of such unhealthy foods. In conclusion, a new tax to applied for fattening foods can be a good idea, considering how well these companies earned in the past and how people's meals have been altered by these kinds of products. It is suggested that not only a change in people's awareness, those healthy foods need to be supported by the government so people can get to them easier in the future.