In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages.

Living longer than the expected average life span is increasing gradually than earlier. Few argue that it is beneficial to the younger generation in many ways, while others oppose it stating this might be a burden or problematic to the government. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this aging population and I believe this is more advantageous compared to the cons. Firstly, the main advantage is that their life experience, advice, and suggestions cannot be taught to the younger generation through some courses or learned by ourselves. Youths nowadays hardly remember and incorporate human values. They are attracted more toward materialistic items and ignore humanity. In addition to this, working parents hardly spend time with their kids, leaving them behind with caretakers to look after them causing a lack of parenting and love. These where old people might help them in looking after their grandchildren and teaching them about valuable things like respecting elders, aiding each other, and building moral values. Would help in growing the younger generation towards the betterment of the future and society. On the other hand, people who oppose the increasing aging population might cause problems for the government giving reasons like an increase in tax payments, pension schemes, and investing in free medical check-ups, and treatments. For instance, as the population grows government needs to aid in looking after their health by providing good medical infrastructure, which can be done by increasing their pension amount so that they can afford it due to the fact that tax payment by the working professionals needs to be increased causing this individual’s net salary to be reduced. Secondly, old people need attention, and company when their children are out for work. Otherwise, this might lead to loneliness causing depression. In my opinion, the above issues can be addressed effectively by the government with appropriate strategies and policies. But the pros gained by this people's presence cannot be tallied or handled with any policies or plans. To conclude, people living longer than the expected life span is a positive development, and its advantages definitely outweigh the disadvantages by taking appropriate steps by the government.