Public libraries will soon no longer be housed in building as all facilites and books are available for all to access. What are the advantages and disadvantages of public libraries existing online?

It is generally accepted that physical libraries will be replaced by online substitutes. Although there are plenty of potential benefits regarding online libraries, I believe that the drawbacks of online reading sources like physical and social handicaps overshadow the pros. One potential hindrance of an online library can be seen in health. It means that prolonged exposure to the screen of computers is highly likely to prone many to some physical ailments as well as mental side effects. For instance, those who are reading for the IELTS exam need to have prolonged study that will be harmful to their vision if read online. Moreover, spending long hours in front of the monitor can encourage a sedentary lifestyle leading to obesity. Thus, it seems rational to accept that online reading can exacerbate the health condition of the users. Another vexation stemming from online libraries is that physical libraries serve as social hubs. It means that they have other practicalities. For instance, students or even adults have reunions and meetings there so by demolishing these centres such social interactions may decline. Furthermore, libraries are considered to pave the way for those who have no access to the internet or are not literate about online reading, adolescents can be taken as examples in this regard. On the other hand, there are a number of privileges to online libraries. First and foremost, they are time-effective and cost-effective. For instance, those who have to commute a long distance to access these areas can investigate the materials from the net easily. It is, also, opined that not only can providing the users with sufficient books, based on their needs, be an infallible precursor in the cost reduction of books, it can also be more environmentally friendly by eliminating the dire need for the paper used for books. In conclusion, it seems rational to accept that the negative aspects of online libraries outshine the merits such as time-saving and cost management that they can bring about.