Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It is widely argued that species such as flora and fauna are disappearing in many areas around the world due to environmental problems. While others argue that there are some problems that need serious attention. In my opinion, the latter view has a significant role over the former. To begin with, environmental problems related to the loss of biodiversity are causing a stressful impact on the environment. This is because when humans transform natural habitats artificially, such as using a piece of heavy machinery and advanced technologies, they make space wider for urbanization, which as a result destroys and alters their surroundings. Additionally, these species are used for numerous resources for human needs and day-to-day usage. Thus, constantly sacrificing animals makes them less in numbers. There are some reports conducted by UNESCO, for instance, which show that only over one-third of unique species have remained on the planet and they are constantly being chased by individuals for hunting. The more they change their natural habitats, the greater their influence on the environment and its surroundings. On the other hand, proponents believe that there are some other environmental problems that should be discussed briefly, which I believe are far more crucial. A key point to notice is that fumes from greenhouse gases and automobiles are more harmful, causing the air to be less healthy and making it hard for individuals to breathe, particularly for asthma patients. Moreover, it can also make people suffer from various chronic diseases such as respiratory illnesses, anger, depression, and loss of self and confusion. There are some cities in India, for example, which emit huge proportions of carbon dioxide and methane gases, which are detrimental to society and its people. Therefore, not only does the air become less healthy, but it also increases the chances of global warming. To conclude, even though the loss of animals and plants is due to human activities and practices, I believe that carbon footprint is a more serious issue and needs urgent attention from the government to tackle it before it gets worse.