advantage and disadvantage of being an Australian citizen

Nowadays, having the Australian citizenship could give you alot of privileges that many people are keen to have them. According to the Department of Home Affairs (2024) since 1949 the amount of individuals who have become Australian citizen and took the citizenship exceeded 6 million. Despite few desadvantages of being an Australian citizen like the high cost of living, being a citizen offers you many advantages like travel benefits, protection and being eligible for many sevice that the country provide. Firstly, the ranking of the Australian passport gives the citizen various travelling facilities. Being in the fifth place in the global passport ranking of the year 2024 is an indicator for the large amount of countries which is 189, that the Australian citizen can go to them easily either without visa or visa on arrival or even with electronic visa. For instance, Australians can travel to U.S.A and U.K without the need of having visa which is hard to enter them if you have a different passport. Hence, citizens can plan for their trips without thinking about the visa issues that can affect their trip, and they can focus on other details to be able to have a great experience during their journey. Secondly, protection for the Australians is one of the most crucial role that the government provide. Australia protect their citizen rights by the law that apply on anyone, no matter who they are or what is their position in the country. Furthermore, Australia protect their citizen rights who are outside Australia through the Australian embassy, and assist them if they need helpFor instance, they can vote through the embassy if there is an election happining in Australia which will protect the citizen righ of voting. Thirdly, being a citizen will give access to many services that will support you during you life. Medicare, finiancial support for the elder and for the university students and many other facilities that are provided by the government, so the citizen could have a easy life. These government-provided facilities not only make life easier for individuals but also contribute to creating a healthier and more educated society. As a result, this will creat a strong nation, that will support the country to grow and develop more. Conversely, the cost of living is increasing year after year which makes it hard for the citizen to aford to purchase many of their life needs. the cost of basic necessities such as groceries and housing has been steadily increasing, placing significant financial pressure on households. Moreover, one of the obtacles that prevent some citizen from having their own house is the mortgage rate Martin(2024) stated " It's the increases in mortgage rates that have made the increases in the other prices hurt so much". In conclusion, while Australian citizenship may come with certain challenges, such as the high cost of living, but the benefits outweigh these drawbacks. The advantages of travelling, preserving your rights, and access to a wide range of public services, provide citizens with many opportunities to improve.