Most countries aim to improve their standard of living through economic development, but many important social values can be lost as a result. Do the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is widely argued that due to economic development, the living standards of several countries have changed, and as a result, various social values have disappeared. I strongly believe that the pros of economic development outweigh the cons. To begin with, one major drawback when countries aim to raise the living standard of people is that they spend their time in solitude. Due to the invention of various technologies, individuals are prone to diseases such as anxiety, depression, and loss of self-confidence and confusion. This leads to an imbalance of life and a cut-off from society. There are numerous claims, for instance, especially for youngsters who do get influenced by changes and their immature brains do not have enough capacity to handle it. Therefore, they lose interest in meeting others. On the other hand, improving people's lives is the key factor for developed countries. This is because a huge annual budget has to be spent on education, healthcare, and infrastructure so that people acquire these amenities free of cost and maintain stability in a country. Furthermore, first-world countries should ensure that their citizens get equipped with employment and high-tech jobs in order to attain peace and prosperity among their people. There are Scandinavian countries, for example, these nations make sure that their people get the basic necessities of life, and the reason for this is the proper governance. Therefore, the more the government works for the people, the more they will work for the country's economic development. To conclude, even though numerous nations are aiming for better living standards by working on economic infrastructure, I believe that social interaction is the only disadvantage, but the advantages are enormous and hugely benefit the country's economy.