It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Punishment plays a significant role in teaching about good and bad at an early age for children. I firmly disagree with this statement that justifies punishment. This essay will explore details about this matter. First, children are vulnerable and emotional, and adults must be aware of how they treat them. In order to correct their mistakes, they have to avoid any action that makes them feel insecure. At an early age, individuals begin to establish self-esteem, and problems at this age are associated with many psychological issues later in life. For example, 40% of people who are in prison have faced family obstacles in their childhoods. Thus, for the healthy mental well-being of children, they should not be punished in any way. Instead, parents have to correct their mistakes with more understanding and patience. Encouraging success by adults is essential to building strong self-esteem in children. Secondly, parents or teachers should use metaphors to help children comprehend good and bad. As this technique has been used in many children's stories, I would recommend conveying knowledge through these metaphoric stories so that children can understand better. Also, providing real-life advice is crucial. For instance, parents could share their experiences and memories to make their children aware of wrongs and rights. Therefore, demonstrating actions with their consequences is a proper way to teach children about morality rather than punishment. In conclusion, I disagree with the idea that pushing children could be a useful method for illustrating wrong and right. This will have devastating outcomes for a child's mental health that may lead to many problems. Using metaphors is more convenient for making them conscious about life.