some say that, art and drama are as important as important as other school subjects especially at the primary level. do you agree or disagree?

There has been a debate regarding the importance of art and drama at the primary school level, with some thinking that they are less relevant compared to other subjects such as natural science and social science. I strongly believe that art and drama are not as critical as other courses for various reasons. First and foremost, artistry does not have a significant role in the betterment of our society. Our civilization is based on the craftsmanship and ideas of scientists, and further governed by the social majors. For instance, the ability to draw paintings would not be able to solve urgent problems, such as alleviating poverty. Moreover, it would be a waste of resources if younger students spend too much of their time studying skill sets that are not relevant to the real world. For instance, providing drawing pencils to students will decrease the overall budget that could be better spent on purchasing microscopes. Some would disagree and argue that teaching arts would enhance creativity and therefore improve the capability to solve various problem sets. There are merits to that argument, however, creativity can be improved in a more effective manner. For example, children can develop novel ideas by being exposed to mathematical problems, this would improve their creativity while learning subjects that are comparatively more relevant in the real world. To conclude, I firmly believe that art should not be taught in primary schools due to the limited role of artists in our world and because of the limitation of resources.