Task 2: some cities create housing for their growing population by providing taller buildings. Other cities create housing by building on wider areas of land. Which solution is better?

Recent years have witnessed the explosion of population in many parts of the world leading to housing problems. While many cities choose high concrete constructions as a solution for this dilemma, others expand their areas for more accommodations. This essay will shed light on the negative and positive aspects of both two measures before concluding that I am inclined toward the former. Granted, widening cities’ areas in order to supply more space for dwellers has particular advantages. The first benefit of this measure is that The more land possessed by citizens, the higher the probability for them to build large houses such as mansions without any limitations as available apartments. Besides that, land houses ensure the family’s privacy with fences and walls to separate their space completely from that of their neighbours. However, there are still side effects in this trend. Chief among these is the potential risks to the environment. That said, extending cities' land for housing means deforestation or taking away suburbs' landscapes to serve for construction projects, which cause noise pollution and require huge amounts of energy. Notwithstanding the aforementioned solution, the idea of using high-rise apartments as a means to remedy the situation of a growing number of citizens is much more convincing regardless of the likely limited space. This can be attributed to two primary rationales. With the bombardment of population, high concrete buildings can allocate enough accommodations to tailor massive demands with much more reasonable prices than land houses, for they necessitate less land used than the latter for the same number of dwellings. In addition to this, shared buildings facilitated with public amusement sites encourage social interactions among both adults and children, from whom are significantly benefited especially for healthy mental toughness. In conclusion, while cities solve accommodation problems by creating housing on expanding land, I believe that constructing multi-floor buildings is better owing to their prices and boosting connection among individuals.