Due to the influence of world-wide media such as television and computers, the gap between cultures is narrowing. The introduction of this global culture is of great benefit to the world. To what extent do you agree with this point of view?

It is often believed that the prevalence of global media is incredibly beneficial to people around the world since televisions and computers reduce cultural differences. I partially support this view, for it allows people to access various information regardless of the potential risk of the disappearance of some traditional behaviours. On the one hand, the introduction of worldwide media is advantageous to people since it enables people to gain new perspectives from information that prevails in the world. In other words, the flow of new information allows them to reflect on their own life from a different viewpoint and even criticize it. For example, people tend to promote gender equality in Japan, where male superiority has been a long tradition because of the growing influence of different cultures which promote the empowerment of female roles. Therefore, this frees countries from traditional expectations and restrictive thought, encouraging them to make a fair decision in life. On the other hand, the advancement of media is disadvantageous as it leads to the elimination of some cultural activities and events as more popular trends spread widely. Indeed, it declines the value of their own tradition as people tend to regard other cultures as more appealing, which encourages them to follow a similar behaviour; many young adults are now more curious about western fashions of blue jeans and t-shirts because of a number of their pictures and video clips shared online, which reduces the popularity of Japanese traditional clothing called "kimono." Thus, unrestricted access to information leads to a lack of diversity as more popular and dominating lifestyles replace conventional ones. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that worldwide media has a positive impact on people's lives as it has made it possible for people to have a wider choice of life without being restricted to traditional thought. However, the free flow of information from media leads to the extinction of some cultures as they try to catch up with the latest trends, ignoring the importance of their own cultures.