nowadays many people use social media do you think advantages of this outweigh the drawbacks

In recent years the number of people who use social media has grown enormously. Some argue that this phenomenon has a huge number of advantages, such as communication with interesting people, making new friends and entertainment. However, I strongly believe that the drawbacks of this ranging from wasting time to online bullying exceed the benefits. This essay will explore both the pros and cons of this theme and give its own perspective. To begin with, there are a myriad of benefits of using social media. Firstly, social media gives an opportunity to talk with a lot of interesting people. For example, because of Instagram my classmate talked to Damian Musk and asked him whether he could make an online conference about quantum physics. Consequently, members of our school learned much more about this subject from a Caltech student. Secondly, some people are scared of real live conversations, being introverts. However, using social media they can talk to human beings online, without being afraid. Finally, after a hard day at work, humans can get the relaxation and the necessary amount of dopamine. To illustrate, coming home from a job with a bad mood may be improved by watching funny videos on YouTube. Conversely, it is important to recognize that usage of social media has some drawbacks. For instance, instead of studying or doing sports, people may waste their time, by spending a huge number of hours on social media. To illustrate, before perceiving that I spend too much time with messengers, I usually spend three hours per day scrolling through short videos. Additionally, no one is safe from online bullying, anyone can get abysmal comments on their posts, which may cause depression and other psychological issues. Moreover, spending too much time on a phone may lead to eye diseases or even full blindness. In conclusion, although social media has a lot of advantages like making new friends and connecting with people, I firmly assert that the drawbacks of this, ranging from wasting such crucial time, to health diseases and being bullied outweigh the merits. Therefore, it is vital to distinguish that we should not spend that much time on social media.