Individuals can do nothing to change society. Any new development can only be brought about by governments and large institutions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Any new development in the world can be brought only by government and big institutions and individuals cam do nothing to change society. I personally disagree with this statement because people have any possible abilities to make world better. The most eyeopening fact about government is that they have power to make desicions over people. However, there is a lot of countries where only society makes desicions about their countries. And great example of this would be England, where president of England listens people's opinion of their lives and does everything to make living in his country better. Moreover, presidents of this kind of countries are not doing it for personal needs such as growth in finances or network. In most cases, these are people who have already became rich and independent Being a president is just their own interests and passions to make lives easier and fair. On the other hand, there is also countries where only government are leading and not willing to listen their citizens. Usually, in this types of governments, there are always some agreements between presidents, ministers, and institutions. And the most unfair countries are CIS countries. Nevertheless, i think that if there are more people living in the countries than government or institutions, people may just scare government by rallies and do whatever they want. Of course there might arise a conflict and even a war, but people deserve greater and fair life. In conclusion, even if there are possible issues may arise between citizens and government, i believe that the power of society and their own independency outweigh any prohibitons prohibition or developments made by government.