Too much emphasis is placed on going university for academic study. People should be encouraged to do vocational training, because there is a lack of qualified tradespeople such as electricians or plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Ever since the beginning of the 21st century, the number of people who go to university for academic study has increased while the number of people who do vocational trading has decreased which has caused a lack of qualified tradespeople such as electricians and plumbers. I completely agree with encouraging more people to do vocational training. Firstly, the number of people who have vocational careers is the sole reason why our houses are maintained properly, it is because of their vocational training and prior knowledge that we have properly maintained water and electrical supply. Shortages in the population of these people can cause problems on a large scale which could take years to get fixed. Lastly, with the rise in people who go to university for academic study, the employment rate and salaries have decreased whereas people who become plumbers and electricians find it easier to get jobs that pay well. Moreover, in contrast to people who work 9-5, electricians and plumbers have more flexible schedules and can balance life and work. Furthermore, In comparison to the tuition fees required to complete academic study at a university, vocational training is cheaper and gives a better return on investment. Plumbers and electricians have higher career stability than people who have degrees, which look down on plumbers and electricians who do not. To conclude, tradespeople have better career stability and higher pay in comparison to the average job. People need to start realising the need for these professions and encourage their children to take to vocational training as they keep our country maintained and safe.