It is becoming more and more difficult to escape the influence of the media on our lives. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in a media-rich society.

In this modern day, technology has brought a wider engagement in the the media fraternity where it becomes accessible anywhere and anytime. Media has been a major tool of communication worldwide and it is key to the entertainment and social side. On the other hand it has caused the distraction of cultural values and encouraged moral decadence. On the one hand, Media is crucial for communication purposes. News spread quickly through media platforms such as newspapers and radio. In many cases, this has helped to make people be aware of the current global affairs, for instance, the recent outbreak of the monkey pox. More-so, media entertains people through a number of captivating programs being shown on its platforms. For example, travel programs on YouTube where bloggers document their adventurous journeys into new countries. All this make media beneficial to mankind. On the other hand, media has caused several cultures to collapse due to too much influence from Western countries. Corrupt cultures are using media to infiltrate into foreign decent societies and manipulate them. For example, the Gay community tries by all means to preach to people into accepting their deeds. In conclusion, media has more benefits as seen on how it brings entertainment and its informative nature. However, if media is not used wisely it can be costly to out cultures and norms.