More and more families are choosing fast food over home-cooked meals. What are the reasons for this and how can they be addressed?

Many households are turning to fast food rather than cooking at home. This essay believes the main reasons for choosing fast food over homemade food are the lack of time and expensive ingredients and suggests preparing meals in advance and subsidies to farmers to reduce the prices of ingredients as the most viable solutions. The main reasons for eating fast food instead of home cooked food are scarcity of time and costly ingredients. Since a lot of people are busy at work, they do not have enough time to cook and do grocery shopping. It is therefore more convenient for them to order something or get takeaway food. As well as this, some ingredients needed to cook can be very expensive. That’s why families sometimes tend to eat out in some fast food restaurants since it’s cheaper. For example, in the United States fresh fruits and vegetables, as well as, dairy products and meat are unaffordable to the majority of households, whereas fast food chains like McDonald’s offer 7$ combos. These can be solved by preparing meals one day before and providing special subsidies to local farmers. Firstly, pre-prepared semi-finished products, cut vegetables, fry meat products and freeze in containers are convenient for preparing dinner in a short time or heating in the microwave. For example, meat cutlets, pelmeni, vareniki, pancake dough and cocktails. Secondly, it is very important for the government to provide financial support to farmers who are engaged in growing agriculture for the population. For example, products purchased at a farmers ' fair are healthier and fresher, and are also more accessible and cheaper for cooking at home. In conclusion, junk food is harmful to health while home-cooked food is much tastier and does not contain a huge amount of fat, which is good for health.