The decline in the number of people reading books is a concern for many. What measures can be taken to promote reading and support the publishing industry?

Nowadays, the decline of people interested in reading has become a relevant issue in our society. This essay will present solutions to improve reading rates among the population and promote the industry of book production. Primarily, promoting the habit of reading depends on public campaigns, aimed at the access to printed materials by young students. This is because the interest in books is more appealing during the primary school period, and governmental initiatives capable of providing a higher amount of books to schools could raise the number of new readers in these communities. For instance, the Brazilian Federal Government implemented the National Reading Program, which has been allocating funding for school libraries since 1992, allowing free-of-charge access to books to low-income students all around the country. Secondly, the publishing economic sector may be supported by a tax reduction policy related to the publishing production chain. This is important since taxes have a significant impact on printing's final price, and its decline would result in a upward trend in book sales, positively impacting on publisher's finances. To illustrate, in 2004, the Brazilian Federal Government exempted publications, bookstore operations, and editorial companies, leading to cheaper books and improving their sellings. To summarize, the decrease in readers is an important problem to be faced, and to do so, I propose the establishment of incentivization public campaigns focused on young pupils, to foster children's reading, and the reduction of books ' final price through the implementation of a taxation reduction policy destinated to the publishing industry. With these two measures, I believe that it is possible to foster reading habits and collaborate for the publishing sector's economic development.