Today, newspapers and televisions are giving detailed descriptions on crimes. Some people believe such a practice will cause bad consequences and thus media should be restricted. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the present day, more information about crimes is shown in the newspapers and television. Many people believe this can cause negative impacts and media regulation must be implemented, I strongly disagree with this notion. In the following paragraphs, these positive aspects of this crime news will be discussed before the conclusion is reached. To begin with, there are many positive consequences associated with crime news. Raising public awareness about daily dangerous events is one of the great benefits, which leads to promoting self-defence in individuals, such as taking dojo courses or enrolling in karate classes. Additionally, enhancing property protection, including house security improvement. The location of the crime scene provides useful information for people living in that area, to beware of suspicious persons and avoid unsafe areas. Moreover, this will be beneficial for police in capturing criminals, with the insight of people they can point out any suspicious person and even realise the abnormal events before they occur. The specific appearance of criminals in the media gives them a hard time walking on the day and doing a bad thing easily. However, detailed descriptions of crimes can have some negative effects on young people. For example, without the appropriate guidance, children can follow the actions of criminals or absorb violent behaviour. In conclusion, there are many advantages that crime news offers, such as raising public awareness, promoting self-protection, avoiding suspicious persons and being a helpful tool for police. However, this has some downsides for teenagers by being a false model for them. Therefore, I totally agree with this practice because the benefits are significantly far outweigh the drawbacks.