In some countries children take up paid jobs during the summer vacation. Some people feel that this amounts to child labour. Others argue that summer jobs help children learn valuable lessons. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There have been ongoing debates regarding whether numerous nations tend to stimulate juveniles to take on jobs during long vacations in order to learn life lessons and gain new experiences, while some argue that this is purposeless. Both points of view and the reason why I agree with the former argument will be elaborated on in this essay. To begin with, it might be sensible for some to claim that a part-time job during the summer is unnecessary seeing that children should have time to relax after a rigorous academic year. The research conducted by Oxford University compared students who had time to enjoy themselves with their friends to those who were required to take mandatory jobs. the study found that the intelligence of the former group was significantly higher than that of the latter. Conversely, in this day and age, children's rights have become ubiquitous, causing a part-time job to be non-obligatory in several countries, whether it be Japan or the US, where policies are in place to protect these rights. Therefore, whether or not children take on a part-time job depends on their individual needs. Some part-time jobs, such as cooking, offer direct benefits by teaching skills that be valuable in the long run. In my opinion, I strongly support the existence of part-time jobs because they are not only essential for children but also beneficial for businesses in some countries. Take Australia, for example, part-time jobs play a crucial role in the economy due to inexpensive labour and short-term contracts. In conclusion, even though it is undeniable that children should have free time to engage in activities they enjoy, the government should provide them with the option to take on a job because I believe the advantages outweigh the detrimental outcomes in the long run.