Tobacco is a kind of drug. People have been free to use it. Some people think that it should be illegal to use it comparing with other drugs. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What is your opinion?

A few decades ago, a new item called cigarettes was advertised as a kind of new entertainment product. Once it was in the market, people enjoyed them without awareness of their addiction. It was unknown how damageful it was back then. Through the years, scientists have done some research about tobacco and its harm to living things. Therefore, many people believe that this drug should be banned from the shops. In my opinion, I disagree with that thought because it is almost impossible to be forbidden. Firstly, tobacco is one of the oldest addictive drugs in the world. Even in ancient times, it is known that individuals smoked tobacco by using a pipe or rolling it into a paper. However, in those days, civilization was not developed to add lots of chemicals to tobacco. Because of that they smoked it purely. It can't be said that it was not dangerous for the human body, but it caused less harm than the modern ones. With the Industrial Revolution, lots of factories were built to produce many products faster and cheaper. Additionally, with the new technology, human beings learned how to add different nutrients and even chemicals to those items. In the beginning, a pack of cigarettes was considered not only innocent, but also helpful to cope with stress. Therefore, there were many advertisements to make people smoke more often. Unfortunately, they were not aware of the consequences of the nicotine addiction. People became angrier and more stressed when they were lack of that addiction. Secondly, when individuals were addicted to nicotine, scientists did much research about the harm of that product. Then, they showed that tobacco was related to lots of diseases such as lung cancer and respiratory problems. Finally, many people think that it should be illegal to sell or to buy it because of its lethality. At the same time, the advertisements were banned and some information stickers were put on the packages about the damages. On the other hand, there are lots of addictive drugs more harmful than cigarettes such as weed, cocaine, heroin, and so on. Most of them are illegal in many countries because they cause lots of physical, mental, and psychological problems. Furthermore, those drugs cause more serious and lethal diseases compared to tobacco. In conclusion, I believe that it is hardly possible to forbid smoking because it is too popular these days. In addition, I don't think that its prohibition will be not a solution to make human beings quit smoking. In my opinion, there should be an educational class about how smokers can be successful in quitting.