Some people think most crimes are the result of circumstances like poverty and other social problems. Others believe that they are caused by people who are bad by nature.

It is argued that whether crimes were forced by social situation or people just borne to be bad. In my points of view, the social circumstance would be the major cause for a person to be a criminal. On the one hand, evidence suggest that the social prosperity is significantly correlated to crime rate. In undeveloped regions, people tended to suffer from, for example, low social welfare and inaccessibility to healthcare service resource. Moreover, lack of education resources would lead to less competitive in job market and elevated unemploy rate. In that case, people would not be able to secure their basic needs, they are despaired and increasingly vulnerable to break the laws for living. On the other hand, it is indeed that some people chose to be a criminal because their evil personality, like those who break the law just for fun. However, psychologically speaking nobody are borne to be bad. The character of a person is shaped by their past experience and living environment. For instance, childhood abuse may twist a kids’ personality and making them easily to feel insecure even though after they grown up. In extreme circumstance they are commonly to have violent behaviors, in order to make themselves feel safe. Therefore, I tend to believe people who commit crime are essentially a result of the circumstances they were in. To reduce the crime rate it is imperative to secure local education, welfare, as well as building a loving environment for children.