With an increasing population communicating via the Internet and text-messaging, face-to-face communication will become a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The accessibility to internet accelerates the use of text-messaging to the detritment of face-to-face communication. This essay explains why I agree on this statement by revolving around two main reasons: text-messaging is faster and safer, and face-to-face communication is more demanding. First of fall, the increasing use of social media like Facebook, Whattsapp and Instragram brought the population to become more familiar with less formal communications. In fact, exchanging messages is faster and easier than talking. Moreover, it keeps a sort of distance which secures a kind of privacy during any conversations. Although one-to-one conversations are more intimate and direct, in the past few years, younger generations are more confident to find a partner through applications like Tinder. This is due to a safe chat that anticipate the premises of the relationship. Another reason related to the spread of text-messaging is that, in comparison to face-to-face communication, is more easy-going. Certainly, real life meetings are nicer but undoubtedly more demanding. For instance, in the current highly performative life conditions, it has become more difficult to arrange an encounter due to the growing commitments people entail in their everyday life. Specifically, the flexibility that contemporary life has imposed has determined more precarious life conditions. This means that it prevents to have fixed free time for setting plans with friends and family. In conclusion, despite face-to-face communication are more effective and direct, text-messaging has become predominant because the benefits it offers such as speed and safety are required in our times.