Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some people believe that competition can help children strive in their adult lives, others think that it is better to teach them how to cooperate with others. Although competition may lead to the preparation for children ’s future work because it embeds employable skills in them, I think the ability to collaborate effectively with others would be more important because workers need teamwork skills in order to attain their goals. On the one hand, some people believe that it is a good practice that children are frequently placed in competitions since it can help them build a number of employable traits, which will be needed for their future careers. Leadership and problem-solving skills are the two most desirable features that companies are looking for in their prospective employees. For instance, in the UK, a majority of job advertisements for management positions specifically mention these two skills, along with the qualification and work experience, as preferred features in job applicants. However, I think forcing teenagers to compete just to prepare them for the future would in turn prevent them from being able to establish lifelong friendships with their peers. On the other hand, it is argued that rather than competing all the time, it is imperative to teach adolescents how to work as a team because teamwork will be extremely useful when they become adults. Contradicted to leadership and problem-solving skills, teamwork is considered crucial, particularly in the kinds of jobs that require the involvement of a group of people. For instance, event planning businesses need at least five people to execute tasks, such as floral arrangement, stage set-up, guest list mapping, catering services and more. Hence, I think it is necessary that children are taught to cooperate and work in a team in order for them to be able to transform into productive adults for society in the future. In conclusion, while some believe that competition is necessary to teach children about future jobs, I think it is imperative that they are equipped with traits that allow them to cooperate with others so as to function efficiently in their societies.