Nowadays people are living increasing an increasing longer life and in many countries, there are more old people than young people. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

With a significant rise in life expectancy, the old-aged people are living more years in comparison to the young generation in numerous parts of the world. This trend brings numerous benefits along with its potential drawbacks. To begin with, the most prominent advantage of old people experiencing longer lives is that they have vast knowledge and experience that they gained throughout their lives. If they live more years they can help the young generation to remain connected with the roots of their culture which would encourage them to maintain the heritage and history of their culture. Furthermore, the golden age could be helpful for individuals because they can pursue their hobbies which were postponed at a young age, probably due to family or work. Thus, they can indulge in subsequent charity works or can go and explore the world to gain mental satisfaction. On the flip side, the major drawback of this scenario is that it might put extra pressure on the government budget because the longer lives of old people would lead to an increase in the demand for pensions, retirement homes, and more health amenities, hence, to meet these demands government might put an extra pressure of taxes on working class or the executives need to cut down the investment in other sectors such as education and transport. Additionally, young people need to bear another responsibility of taking care of their health and food. Young ones might need to spend some time with old people for their mental satisfaction which is a daunting task for them due to their busy life. Therefore, this leads to the disturbance in their academics or work life. To conclude, as per the testimonials mentioned above it is crystal clear that this longevity of life offers a double sword with both positives and negatives. So, to maximize the benefits it is vital for the rulers to address the challenges judiciously, ensuring the well-being of both the elderly and wider society