Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a constant argument about whether being competitive in every aspect of our lives or being cooperative outweighs one another. While a competitive mind is necessary in certain scenarios, I believe that everyone should develop the ability to cooperate. On the one hand, people can benefit from a healthy rivalry as every competition sets up a clear goal for one to pursue. When a person achieves temporary success, it makes one more confident and determined to reach a higher level of success. During the competition, one could compare the advantages and disadvantages of the potential competitors and him/herself. An efficient system of self-management may be cultivated, which would become good habits throughout one ’s entire life. Despite the fact that competition can fulfil self-improvement, it should be noticed that it is impossible to be a champion in every aspect of life and the will to succeed may instead turn into a poisonous mind which exhausts a person and ruins relationships with surrounding people. On the other hand, when we are actively collaborating with others, there is a large chance that we are motivated by other's distinguished ideas. These different views perhaps later become the source of innovations. It has been proven that the early success of Apple’s graphic user interface was inspired by a visit to Xerox’s tech lab. Moreover, for individuals, collaboration creates a harmonic environment between co-workers, classmates or friends, which is better for people’s mental stability. In conclusion, keeping an appropriate tense of competitive mind is beneficial, but learning to be cooperative will always boost us up and maintain a long-term progression.