Some people believe that the government should financially support retired people. Others think they should care for themselves. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Whilst other people believe that retired people be supported financially by the government, I believe they should take care for themselves because there are other priorities that the government should prioritized first. On the one hand, government is giving all its best to give his people the service that they can offer and one is by giving considerable discounts on the basic necessities for retired people whose already in their senior years like food, medicine and transportation.They also give retirement homes for retirees specially when they serve the government before they retire. It is fair enough that they were given priveledges on basic commodities that were very helpful when they are out of the service. They do it to give retired people some comfort as they cannot earn enough during their youngest years. For example, the government of the Republic of the Philippines is giving 20% discount to senior citizens for every purchase or transportation they will make. However, people should prepare themselves financially stable so when the time comes that they were already retired they will not suffer for their living and will enjoy the rest of their lives. For instance, individual who works hard in their younger years tend to save for the future enough to cover their expenses when they retire. In conclusion, although government are doing its best to support financially the needs of retired people they should still work on their younger years for them to save so when the time comes that they were already retired they will not be needing the financial support from the government as they were able to support themselves.