The cost of international travel is decreasing, and so the trend of international tourism is increasing in many countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of the rising trend of tourism for countries?

The cost of international travel is decreasing and therefore international tourism is increasing around the world. This essay believes that is has more advantages for the local economy although it may present some disadvantages that will be discussed below. Firstly, tourism strengthens the local economy as there is international money that is being brought into the country. It also provides jobs for the locals as touring companies, restaurants, the arts, hotels and local transport will be used significantly during high season. An immediate example is the rising tourism in Mexico which streamed from a James Bond film released in 2013 which showcased the Day of the Dead parade which now million travel from around the world to watch. It has captured the eye of tourism and extremely successful companies like Disney, leading them to produce films that bring even more tourism. On the other hand, there has been a pattern observed in increasing tourism in a country and a lack of environmental focus. Tourists tend to be less aware of the carbon footprint in a country that is not their own. The increase of cars, trains, airplanes and buses is also incredibly damaging for the environment. Music festivals around the globe have release data linked to the increase of litter and the tourist visiting during that weekend which is shocking to read. In conclusion, tourism can successfully expand a countries economic and provide more work opportunities to the locals. Whereas, pollution can become a serious issue that the government will have to tackle this.