Space travel to the Moon is often cited as one giant leap for mankind. Yet some people argue that this achievement made little difference to our daily lives. What is your opinion?

It is widely accepted that setting foot on the moon is one of mankind's greatest achievements. Continued technological breakthroughs, human spirit and perseverance all had to come together to make this feat possible. However, many people believe that space exploration is a waste of taxpayer's money. This essay will explore both sides of the argument to reach an effective conclusion. Firstly, a strong argument can be made that space travel has many untold benefits. For example, by establishing a base on the moon, widescale research can be carried out on the effects of reduced gravity on human physiology. Additionally, further investigations on how crops could be grown, and how clean water can be produced in space can be carried out. All this research could one day lead to human beings becoming a multi-planetary civilisation. Conversely, a compelling case can be made that before looking to the stars, we should first solve the numerous pressing issues on Earth first. These include renewable energy production, poverty, and global warming. Government funding should be aimed at combating these problems first before continued investment in space travel. As is the case with most challenges, I believe a more balanced approach is the better option. Money should be allocated for tackling the problems mentioned above while research into space exploration should simultaneously continue. Furthermore, countries around the world can ensure that sufficient spending is put aside so that both issues are addressed. To sum up, I am of the opinion that continued space exploration is important for the future of mankind. However, it should not take precedence over the many problems facing Earth currently. I advocate for a more balanced approach where both problems can one day be solved.