It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

“Spare the rod, spoil the child” is one of the most popular proverbs that people often quote when talking about educating children in Vietnam. Personally, I completely agree that punishment in general and corporal punishment in particular are essential to make children be aware of and learn the difference between just and unjust right from the beginning of their childhood because of the following reasons. To begin with, it goes without saying that, most of young children do not have enough understanding and knowledge of what is right and what is wrong, and many children are not very obedient. Adults such as their parents and teachers’ reasoning with them does not always work well. Theorefore, an arbitrary method, punishment, should be employed to make them learn by heart the line / border between acceptable actions and unacceptable ones. In the second place, psychologically it is widely known that people, including children, tend to remember the happiest and most painful moments and lessons in their life the longest. So, sometimes parents have to hit their badly-behaved sons or daughter hard to get them back on the right track. Another thing is that nowadays modern life is rife with temptations that can cause children to do wrong things, such as violent video games, online gambling, harmful contents on social media, for example Tik Tok, Telegram, to name but a few. They are so powerful that parents fails to stop their children from indulging in them just by using tender words. For that reason, penalty, even a physical one by using a rod, should be applied. In summary, I am absolutely convinced that it is vital for families, schools and other stakeholders to use various measures of punition enabling children to differentiate wrongdoing from rightdoing right-doing at the early stages of their life.