Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The environment is created by so many life chains inside it. They create a symbiosis between them. Therefore, it is very sensitive if one of it was disrupted. Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there is a more important environmental problem. However, I would say that the extinction of both plants and animals is not the root cause of the destruction of the habitat for some reasons that are set out below. First of all, the extinction of some plants and animals can disrupt the surroundings since there will be an overpopulation of some living things because there is no predator to reduce their number. On the other side, environmental problems can be caused by human activity as they take over almost all of the population in the world. In my opinion, people should be aware of their actions because the environment itself can be changed with only our bad behaviour, such as wild deforestation, which will remove all animals and plants inside it. Moreover, an extinction can cause some predators to fight against each other for territory. One of the best examples of this case is when the deer population, which is the food source for tigers has dropped in number. Consequently, tigers will look into another territory for food, and then they will kill each other for it. The area will become a wasteland without a live sign. Yet, this situation can be created by humans in a simpler way. They can hunt all deer in the area for fun and also hunt the tiger as well. In conclusion, whilst the loss of particular species of plants and animals can destroy the environment, yet, it is triggered by external factors too including people's behaviours.