You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is observed around the globe that people living in the countryside are seeking opportunities in cities, causing a decline in the rural population. I believe the potential benefits outweigh the disadvantages if some problems are settled. To begin with, it should be acknowledged that cities are more likely to evolve with more population. To illustrate this, we can view this proposition in two folds. On the one hand, a city is not sustainable by itself. Every urban resident has to serve his/her occupation and everyone needs to be served in terms of living convenience such as traffic, hygiene and food. For instance, streets may be short-staffed for maintenance, and new restaurants and grocery stores will perhaps come to exist. The fresh blood can be perfect to fill these blanks. On the other hand, when the city grows to a certain size, namely a metropolitan, the radiation effect is more obvious and more individuals will be drawn. Ultimately, the expansion of the city will help to promote the living quality of the population tremendously. It should be stressed that the above advantages are idealistic and the authorities are obligated to take measures to ensure that the legal rights of rural people are not violated. Firstly, the original urban residents should be willing to accept that a new group of people are joining their lives and mutual respect needs to be established. Secondly, the government can subsidize the family whose elder members are left in the countryside, lacking necessary care. A possible solution to this could be building more nursing homes. In conclusion, urbanization is an inevitable trend which brings benefits to everyone involved. But more importantly, measures shall be taken to safely push the fusion forward.