Some people believe that no one should be allowed to continue working after the age of 65. However, others say there shouldn’t be a limitation on age, and anyone should be allowed to work regardless of their age. Discuss both views, give your opinion and include relevant examples.

Old age is golden and it comes with wisdom as a result of the experience accumulated over the years, as for whether a 65 year old is too old to work or should be allowed to continue working is debatable and alot should be put to test before coming up with a conclusive opinion. On one hand, the level of expertise attained by a worker who is over 65 years is precious and should not just be put under the carpet since they can act as mentors and guides to the newly employed wokers. As the wise men in my village said, old is gold and with age comes wisdom, these older workers can be promoted to managerial levels so that they can direct the organisations to the direction they have witnessed work correctly in the past. On the contrary, I think people over the age of 65 should embrace retirement as there are so many graduates with no jobs yet they have the latest skills needed to navigate organisation through the current society. These talents and skills should be tapped immediately they leave school. Therefore, the opportunities should be created for them by people who have worked for a longer time. In my view, the expertise of the 65 year old worker should be blended with the recent skills of the fresh graduates by giving the older workers managerial and consultancy posts to give them the chance to inculcate the junior workers with values and relevant strategies to run the organisations. The older generation can also be encouraged to set up businesses in order to create employment for the younger generation as they also continue to impact on the very fields they have been practising over the years.