Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other.   Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is a considerable debate about which factor will provide more benefits for people in daily life, competition or cooperation. However, from my perspective, competition is the best choice for the individual and society. To begin with, cooperation brings a series of advantages for people in daily life. Nowadays, most work in companies and schools is teamwork, which means individuals should cooperate with each other to deal with difficulties in work and study. Because individual power and capacity are limited, cooperation with others can improve efficiency in work and the ability to get over difficulties to some extent. For instance, at work, the cooperation between architects and civil engineers can adapt the design on time to fit in demands of consumers through the constructing process and improve sales figures. However, cooperation will lead to a lot of drawbacks such as conflict with teammates, deficiency of innovation and motivation, etc. It is clear that competition not only improves efficiency at work and study but also stimulates people to try their best to strive for excellence. On the one hand, commercial competition can drive companies to launch better goods to satisfy customers’ desires, which will bring convenience to daily life and enhance people’s quality of life. On the other hand, educational competition will make students study hard to obtain good grades in examinations and encourage researchers in universities to explore new technological fields constantly. Therefore, competition can boost individual progress and maintain the social dynamic and creativity. In conclusion, competition is the main power to motivate progress of the individual and society in every new field instead of cooperation.