Today more countires import food from different parts of the world. Discuss the adventages and disadvantages of this trend. Provide specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the rise of globalization in the past two decades, more and more countries choose to buy food from other countries rather than producing their own meals. It is often the case that food importers are higher-income countries and those with fewer resources for argriculture while food suppliers are lower-income countries and those with richer natural and human resources in food production industry. In this essay, I will discuss the pros and cons of the food import trend for both the import countries and the export countries. For the exporters, selling their agricultural produces abroad is a strategic way to increase their income levels in a short to medium time period. For example, Vietnam has been among the top rice exporters for many years, along with Thailand. Such large amount of exported rice allows Vietnam to bring back giant revenue for rice growers and traders, keeping the lives of millions of farmers stable across fluctuations of the economy. While other economies suffered from the Covid-19 pandemic, Vietnam still flourished thanks to its strength in rice production and export activities. However, such advantage does not come without a cost. While quantity results in big numbers in terms of revenue, quality is the ultimate factor that leads to sustainable success. Because Vietnamese farmers rely too much on exporting raw produces, they do not gain from the added values from the whole process of food production, starting from high quality cultivation to well-branded consumer products. For example, Vietnam is the top exporter when it comes to robusta coffee. However, you might never see a bag of Vietnamese coffee when you visit a foreign store. That is because the coffee inside has been packaged and branded outside by another well-recognized name. Without a good brand name, Vietnamese coffee remains underpriced, and we do not make more money without having to work harder on the field. For the importers, importing food outside is good because they do not need to do what they are not good at. For example, the UK is good at innovative technology and financial consulting business, so they can just focus on these industries, leaving food for other countries to take care of. Nevertheless, dependency on outside supply of food can put the country in a precarious situation if there is a global crisis that prevents normal transportation activities from happening. In conclusion, global food trade provides both opportunities and challenges to countries involved. While importers are at risk of food security and reduced authorship in their own food resources, exporters are sacrificing their quality for quantity of export and undervalued consumer food products. To embrace the benefits of global food trade, both sides need to balance their supply and consumption.