As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Businesses have always sought to make a profit, but it is becoming increasingly common to hear people talk about the social obligations that companies have. I completely agree that companies should provide some benefits for society than simply make money. On the one hand, I accept that businesses must make money in order to survive in the competitive world. It seems logical that they should prioritize making a profit to cover their running costs, such as employees' wages and payments for buildings and utilities. Moreover, I believe that companies need to invest in improvements and innovations to remain successful. If they are unable to pay their bills and the changing needs of customers, any concerns about social responsibilities become irrelevant. In other words, a company can only make a positive contribution to society if it is in good financial health. However, companies should not be run with the sole aim of maximising profit; they have a wider role to play in society. One obligation that company bosses and managers have is to treat their employees well rather than exploit them. For example, they could pay a "living wage" to ensure their workers have a good quality of life. Furthermore, a company could use a proportion of their profits to support local charities, environmental projects, or education initiatives. Finally, instead of minimising tax payments by using accounting loopholes, I think that company owners should be happy to contribute to society through the tax systems. In conclusion, I believe that businesses should place as much importance on their social responsibilities as they do on their financial objectives.