in the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

It is predicted that in the near future vehicles won't require a driver to operate, and their capacity will be filled with travellers only. I believe that this technological innovation's benefits outweigh its drawbacks. In this essay, I shall discuss several benefits and a disadvantage of this technology. The effort to automate the process of driving certainly has its benefits. The first advantage is the reduction in disastrous accidents. It is common for drivers to experience such misfortunes in their lives, but some lead to fatal endings; in some rare cases, these incidents can cause painful death. For instance, according to a report released by the American Highway Police, it stated that around 500-700 freight transport vehicles succumbed to terrible crashes on roads with poor visibility, especially during the night. So, therefore, it is now a law for trucks to be embedded with AI software that is responsible for restricting speed after sunset. In this way, an abundance of precious lives are saved. Secondly, AI tools can also help people reach their destination on time because these tools are intelligent enough to choose the optimal route in order to avoid traffic and save precious time for the passengers. However, there is one significant disadvantage, and that is cost. AI is an extremely costly technology; millions of dollars are spent on improving the driving experience. Moreover, the staff involved in this are highly paid and expensive, and furthermore, the hardware required to install and manufacture is imported at considerable prices. Combined, these two factors raise the production cost of vehicles equipped with this cutting-edge technology. For example, the new SL-400S with the auto-driving feature is expected to be released in 2026 by Mercedez and will cost around $40,000, while its predecessor, the SL-400, costs half the price at $20,000. Unfortunately, this exclusive product is beyond the reach of the common man. To conclude, this ambitious idea is extremely beneficial for safety and saving time. Besides, the manufacturing costs are too much for the masses to endure. I again think the advantages outweigh the demerits here.