In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Is this a positive or negative development

In this day and age, an increasing number of people are migration towards the urban areas and leaving their rural lives behind, some argue that it would bring prosperity and development to the Urban population, however, I personally believe that it will impose negative effects to the rural community leading to its decline. To begin with, Rural migration isn't a new phenomenon, since the start of the Industrial Revolution and the evolution of technology, many people abandoned the rural life in order to seek living in the more civilized and advanced Urban cities, this trend caused a massive shortage in many sectors like farming ultimately leading to less crop production which worsens the food availability to an ever growing population. Aside from that, massive migration to Urban areas has caused massive congestion among the city residents, massive overcrowding caused people to be counterproductive, less errands being done due to difficulty in commuting between different places, placing further burden on their stress levels that's why a huge sum of people reported to have a lower quality of life than ever before. In addition, this overcrowding has brought with it increased levels of air pollution which consequently affecting their overall health by putting them at risk for contracting several terminal diseases like lung disease and cancer thus causing a higher mortality rate. To conclude, I truly believe that rural migration is negative trend, not only it causes mass overcrowding and environmental pollution, it also exerts further pressure on the population's overall health safety.