Some people believe that it is good for a country’s culture to import foreign movies and TV programs. Others think that it is better to produce these locally. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this modern era, people are into entertainment such as movies and TV programs. Some might think it is better to have a local-produced movie, while others believe that foreign movies would have a good impact on the culture of a country. Although local entertainment would increase a country's art and creativity aspect, imported movies could also introduce the people to broader perspectives. I personally agree with the statement, and in this essay, I will explain both views before presenting my own. Firstly, it is important to have our own local movies and TV programs. Without it, there will be no place for the national people to channel their creativity. We can also use these programs to spread news and information regarding our own country. For instance, there is a movie about the biography of the late President Habibie and his wife. We can learn a lot from the hard work and the history of our nation, that we can not gain by watching foreign programs. For this reason, we need to fully support the development of our own country in the art sector. However, bringing the perspective of other nations might also have a great impact. We can not just rely on our country as a standard. There are lots of things that people from other countries might have different views, in which we can broaden our horizons. As an Indonesian myself, i practiced a lot of my English from watching foreign movies and programs. We can take North Korea as an example, where the people are suffering because it is the country's policy that keeps them caged. Therefore, I personally believe that foreign entertainment would have a good impact on a country's culture, but without neglecting the importance of the local as well. In conclusion, while the debates about local and foreign entertainment might be valid. They both have their own advantages that we can not ignore. Thus, a good portion of both would be a good influence on the nation.