A number of tertiary courses require students to undertake a period of unpaid work at companies or organization as part of their programs. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this type of course requirement?

During college or university, most institutions would require their students to take part in apprenticeships at companies or organizations as a way to acquire experiences before they graduate. Usually, specific requirements will be set such as the companies should be in line with the major of study, and the period of work can be more or less than three months. However, whether it is a paid or unpaid internship is not specified as most institutions would like the students to think of it as a bonus. Looking at the bright side, it is surely beneficial for students to experience problem-solving situations and relationships in a workplace as a preparation to enter the workforce. Furthermore, the students could create new connections in which likely will be helpful if they desire to continue working at the same place after graduation. From the perspective of Human Resource (HR) personnel, these experiences that come with them have been proven to increase the likelihood of offering jobs for fresh graduates. However, focusing on the reward of the internship period is becoming concerning as time goes by. Unpaid workers are prone to be exploited because most corporations do not set definite workloads for interns. As a result, there are also some opinions regarding whether the experiences you have received during internships are valuable enough to be considered in a job interview. In conclusion, there should be an additional requirement set between higher education institutions and companies in organizing internships in terms of reward or pay. Building networks and experiences should be accompanied by adequate welfare, so the students can also learn to not be exploited later when they are entering the working society.