The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books and they shouldn’t waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computer software, videos and DVDs. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Libraries are considered the best places to not only provide books to everyone but also people can come and study there. Nowadays they are diminishing their material as well as space by providing other equipment such as computer software, videos and DVDs. I firmly disagree that public libraries should be limited to books and should not expand to other technologies and will discuss it in detail. We are the generation of new technologies and advancement and therefore new methods of studying books should be provided by libraries also. It will help the librarian to manage the collection in a more organised way. Also, people nowadays prefer other methods learn as watching videos or listening to audio rather than just reading books. To illustrate, When I was in my B.Tech I learned more about my content from YouTube videos despite having books for all subjects. So, People nowadays are more keen to study from hi-tech media rather than books. Also, a public library with high technology can save money as well the space. In a DVD or USB Drive, we can store a huge amount of data which would otherwise occupy a large shelf. Moreover, We do not require many staff members if we use new innovative techniques instead of books. Another benefit will be that books need to be protected from various risks like human damage, fire, getting lost etc but digital content can be easily copied, preserved and can be accessed very easily for a longer amount of time. So, It also provides us benefits like saving space, and money and management is also very flexible. To conclude, Physical books provide a lot of benefits to readers but nowadays it is necessary to transform the libraries into hi-tech features as they provide plentiful advantages to people