More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think aThe solution can be to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the growing number of obese people in the contemporary world, some suggest that raising the cost of fatty food could be an effective measure to tackle this issue. Despite this proposal might have negative ramification, It is likely to be a predominantly advantageous approach due to demotivating customers and decreasing the advertisement to people. On the one hand, there is one rational reason why this method should not be implemented since calorie-dense food is not one of the main reason, the obesity epidemic. This is because there are many other factors that cause increasingly obese individuals, including nutritional education, doing exercise or a sedentary lifestyle. Therefore, the price surge is not an effective solution while the government should consider running campaigns about nutrition or healthy lifestyle to raise awareness for residents. On the other hand, there are some significant benefits that could help to decrease the number of consumers of high-fat food. The first rational is that this suggestion could demotivate potential customers as they are sensitive to changes in price. In Mexico, for instance, the government implemented a tax on sugary drinks and junk food which helped to decrease the percentage of obese individuals after that. Secondly, raising the cost of fattening food could make plenty of restaurants or food chains less profitable, resulting in them having fewer budgets to run many advertisements about fast food. Thereby, It can give limited access to citizens, leading to decline of the consumer. In conclusion, I mostly agree with this approach because it can decrease the number of consumers and limited people to access high-fat food in multiple media. However, the government should deal with it by other effective methods such as running public programs or education.